In John Fuller’s ‘History of Berwick’ there is a lot of mention of large quantities of quicksilver being found whilst digging foundations (Hyde Hill area I think). Do we now know where this has come from? Definately haven’t asked this before either lol

Neither Fuller or his mates seem to have an answer and neither do I. I have had a look at mercury and it seems to normally occur as ore.
However, I’m no geologist. I have emailed a friend who is who may be able to shed some light on it.
I’ll keep you posted if I hear anything.

Leave a Reply

